USAC Midgets “Tuesday Night Thunder” at Red Dirt Raceway!

Lonnie Wheatley, MEEKER, Okla. (July 8, 2019) – The nation’s top Midget racecar drivers invade Oklahoma for the only time this summer as the NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midget series takes to Meeker’s Red Dirt Raceway for “Tuesday Night Thunder”.

The series returned to Oklahoma for the first time in more than 40 years last year and home state hero Christopher Bell fought off Logan Seavey for victory honors.

Seavey, the defending series champion fresh off an Indiana Midget Week championship last month and a POWRi Pepsi Nationals triumph on Sunday, looks to improve by one position this time around.

His hands will be full though with the likes of current series points leader Tyler Courtney, Chris Windom, Kevin Thomas, Jr., and Broken Arrow native Brady Bacon, who pocketed $25,000 with a sweep of this past weekend’s USAC Sprint Car “Corn Belt Nationals” at Knoxville Raceway.  The full contingent of USAC contenders along with a host of Sooner state shoes will vie for victory honors as well.

The details…

What:  USAC Midgets “Tuesday Night Thunder”.

When:   Tuesday, July 9.  Gates open at 5:00 p.m., qualifying begins at 7:00 p.m. with racing to follow at 7:30 p.m.

Where:  Meeker, Oklahoma’s Red Dirt Raceway is located 4.5 miles north of US 62 on SR 18 (990871 South Highway 18, Meeker, Oklahoma 74855).  For more information, contact the track at 405-318-0198 or check online at

Tickets:  General admission is just $25 with high school students and younger just $5.  There is also $5 off admission for anyone wearing a Red Dirt Raceway tee-shirt or that has a “Red Dirt Raceway – Meeker, OK” koozie.  All access pit passes will be available for $35.

Red Dirt Raceway also features a tailgate area available for the first 25 cars for just $100 per car load (fit as many as you can) with one 54 quart cooler and one grill permitted.

The Series:  NOS Energy Drink USAC National Midgets

Top Ten:  The current top ten in USAC National Midget points:

  1. Tyler Courtney (Indianapolis, IN) 849
  2. Logan Seavey (Sutter, CA) 733
  3. Chris Windom (Canton, IL) 732
  4. Kevin Thomas, Jr. (Cullman, AL) 731
  5. Zeb Wise (Angola, IN) 664
  6. Chad Boat (Phoenix, AZ) 637
  7. Tanner Carrick (Lincoln, CA) 574
  8. Tucker Klaasmeyer (Paola, KS) 567
  9. Jerry Coons, Jr. (Tucson, AZ) 553
  10. C.J. Leary (Greenfield, IN) 532

Series Winners:  Through a dozen events this season, only current points leader Tyler Courtney has racked up multiple wins and he’s picked off five.  The other seven wins have been distributed among seven different drivers including 16-year-old Bixby shoe Cannon McIntosh.

Tyler Courtney (Indianapolis, IN) 5, Justin Grant (Ione, CA) 1, Kyle Larson (Elk Grove, CA) 1, Cannon McIntosh (Bixby, OK) 1, Logan Seavey (Sutter, CA) 1, Kevin Thomas, Jr. (Cullman, AL) 1, Tanner Thorson (Minden, NV) 1, Chris Windom (Canton, IL) 1.

Tuesday Night Thunder Winners:  Before shifting to Red Dirt Raceway with Christopher Bell racing to victory lane year, previous Tuesday Night Thunder events took place at Fairbury, Nebraska’s Jefferson County Speedway with Chad Boat (2016) and Tanner Thorson (2017) reaching victory lane before the Fairbury event shifted to Friday and Saturday to anchor the series Mid-America Midget Week.

Oklahoma Midget Scene:  A number of local contenders will take on the USAC invaders.  Carl Junction, Missouri’s Andrew Felker is the current POWRi West Midget League points leader with Cannon McIntosh currently second despite focusing on the National schedule.  Others among the top five in local  series points are Hank Davis, and Morton brothers Chance and Kade.  Felker and Chance Morton picked up wins at Garden City’s Airport Raceway over this past weekend.

Event Partners:  Sponsors making “Tuesday Night Thunder” at Red Dirt Raceway possible include Patriot Dodge of Chandler, Hepfner Racing Products, Rod End Supply, Keizer Wheels, EMi, Mud-X, Speedway Motors, and Outlaw Wings.

(Steve Koletar photo)