Top Gun of the Year … It’s Rico

Rico Abreu Wins “Top Gun of the Year” for 2015

Rico Abreu, of St. Helena, CA, has earned the honor of being named the “Top Gun of the Year,” presented by JE Pistons. 2015 found Abreu competing in several different divisions of race cars, but this didn’t affect the versatile driver as he was the driver to beat when he strapped into a midget.

Abreu started the year in dominating fashion winning his Chili Bowl preliminary night event then going on to claim his first ever Chili Bowl Midget Nationals at midget racing’s premier indoor event in Tulsa, Ok.. This was one of the more popular wins in the history of the event as Rico has found himself to be a fans favorite due to his aggressive racing style.

Things really started to heat up during USAC’s Indiana Midget Week as Abreu took the win at Lawrenceburg Speedway and went on to claim the Midget Week Championship. This was a sign of things to come as the rest of the summer he appeared to be on a mission to dominate every time he showed up at the track.


The Pepsi Nationals was his next stop in victory lane at the popular Angell Park Speedway, which came with a dramatic last turn slidejob. He had the hammer down at the Belleville High Banks as he started back in the field during the preliminary night event and rocketed to the win, claiming the lead before the halfway point. The next stop was in the Keystone State as Abreu swept both events at Path Valley and Lincoln Speedway’s. The Lincoln win came with a dramatic late race pass that had the fans on their feet.

Abreu went on to sweep the Louie Vermeil Classic at Calistoga Speedway in USAC Western competition. The rest the season didn’t produce any more wins, but all the remaining major events found him racing up front for the lead and putting on an amazing performance as he always does for the fans.

We once again salute Rico Abreu on an amazing season and proudly announce him as the 2015 “Top Gun of the Year.”

This is the ninth season for the popular midget racing award, previous “Top Gun” recipients include Jerry Coons Jr. (2007), Brad Sweet (2008), Bryan Clauson (2009 & 2010), Kyle Larson (2011 & 2012) and Christopher Bell (2013 & 2014).

2015 Top Gun Apparel can be found at the link below …