Thorson Claims “Top Gun” Award

Tanner Thorson Claims 2016 “Top Gun of the Year”

Tanner Thorson of Minden, NV has earned the honor of being named the “Top Gun of the Year,” presented by JE Pistons. 2016 turned out to be a breakout year for the talented driver who was a threat to win every time he hit the track.

From beginning to end, 2016 found Thorson winning National Midget events across the country. The Chili Bowl Race of Champions was his first big win of the year against a stellar field of drivers at the Tulsa Expo Raceway in Tulsa, OK.

Thorson saw early season success by sweeping the POWRi Missouri Mid-State Midget National events at Valley and Lucas Oil Speedways. He would have some rough going at USAC’s Indiana Midget Week, but still pulled off a win at the Lincoln Park Speedway Midget Week event in Putnamville, IN.

Illinois SPEED Week was where his season started to take off and he never looked back. He claimed two wins and the Illinois SPEED Week Championship sanctioned by POWRi. Rarely did Thorson finish off the podium the rest of the season.

Highlighted by a three-night sweep of the Gold Crown Nationals, Thorson went on to claim 16 wins in all during a season that included the USAC National Midget Championship.

We once again salute Tanner Thorson on a great season and proudly announce him as the 2016 “Top Gun of the Year.”

This is the tenth season for the popular midget racing award, previous “Top Gun” recipients include Jerry Coons Jr. (2007), Brad Sweet (2008), Bryan Clauson (2009 & 2010), Kyle Larson (2011 & 2012), Christopher Bell (2013 & 2014) and Rico Abreu (2015)