Sherrell Takes POWRi West Honors at Outlaw

MUSKOGEE, Okla. (April 11, 2015) – The 11th day of April treats Matt Sherrell pretty well, as for the second year in a row the Owasso, OK, racer picked up a POWRi Midget win in that day.

A winner at Creek County Speedway last year on April 11, Sherrell celebrated the anniversary of that victory by winning Saturday night’s POWRi West Midget main event at Outlaw Motor Speedway.

In the series first visit to one of the bigger-sized tracks in the region, Sherrell raced from the pole position atop the 3/8-mile clay oval to take the triumph over an 18-car field aboard his No. 35 Midget.

Sherrell took the checkered flag ahead of Texas shoe Anton Hernandez, who climbed from eighth to take runner-up honors. Michelle Decker claimed the show position with Cody Brewer and Hannah Adair rounding out the top five.

Sherrell, Decker and Brewer topped heat race action.

POWRi West Results – Outlaw Motor Speedway (April 11, 2015):

Heat One: 1. 35-Matt Sherrell, 2. 21-Ty Hulsey, 3. 17T-Travis Scott, 4. 88-Tyler Nelson, 5. 87c-Coby Hughes, 6. 12m-Jay Mounce.

Heat Two: 1. 4m-Michelle Decker, 2. 23-Hannah Adair, 3. 52-Anton Hernandez, 4. 85-Matt Johnson, 5. 7x-Jordan McPherson, 6. 27k-Kyle Keeler.

Heat Three: 1. 96-Cody Brewer, 2. 59-Grady Chandler, 3. 14e-Eric Fenton, 4. 17e-Blake Edwards, 5. 24-Hunter Fischer, 6. 62-Jacob Davis.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 35-Matt Sherrell, 2. 52-Anton Hernandez, 3. 4m-Michelle Decker, 4. 96-Cody Brewer, 5. 23-Hannah Adair, 6. 21-Ty Hulsey, 7. 17T-Travis Scott, 8. 24-Hunter Fischer, 9. 85-Matt Johnson, 10. 88-Tyler Nelson, 11. 87c-Coby Hughes, 12. 12m-Jay Mounce, 13. 59-Grady Chandler, 14. 14e-Eric Fenton, 15. 7x-Jordan McPherson, 16. 17e-Blake Edwards, 17. 27k-Kyle Keeler, 18. 62-Jacob Davis.