POWRi West Midgets Storm the Port on Saturday Night

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (May 9, 2018) – The action will be intense on Saturday night as the Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget League presented by Executive Concrete NWA storms into Tulsa’s Port City Raceway.

Saturday’s card will mark the lone appearance of the year for the mighty Midgets of the POWRi West Midget league atop the cozy confines of the racy, 1/8-mile Port City Raceway clay oval.

It will also be the first Midget competition at Port City Raceway since Caney, KS, shoe Andrew Deal scored a POWRi West win on July 30, 2016.  Matt Sherrell and Jason McDougal also earned POWRi wins at Port City in 2016.

Thus far, five different drivers have reached victory lane in a half dozen POWRi West Midget League events in 2018 including Christopher Bell, Ace McCarthy, Jonathan Beason, Logan Seavey and Tanner Carrick.

The series goes into Saturday’s card after a weekend in tandem with the Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget League in Missouri where Seavey and Carrick were victorious.

Fifteen-year-old Cannon McIntosh led the POWRi West Midget League ranks in Friday’s outing at Valley Speedway with a third-place finish with recent Red Dirt Raceway series winner McCarthy and Wesley Smith also among the top ten while April 28 I-44 Riverside Speedway victor Beason led the way with a tenth-place finish at Lucas Oil Speedway on Saturday night.

Springfield, Missouri’s Kory Schudy carried the series points lead into last weekend’s action with defending series champion Grady Chandler a close second in points.

Saturday’s event also marks the fifth round of action for the POWRi West Sooner Series, a league within a league.  In total, more than $12,000 in points fund money is up for grabs in the POWRi West Midget League and POWRi West Sooner Series action for 2018.

In addition to Lucas Oil and Executive Concrete NWA, additional POWRi West Midget League supporting sponsors include Two-Eight Drilling, American Discount Auto Care, R&M Race Trailer and A1 Machine.

Contingency sponsors include Smith Ti (Heat One), Keizer Wheels (Heat Two), Saldana Products (Heat Three), Rod End Supply (Heat Four), Pyrotech (Heat Five), BOSS Performance (High Point Driver), MPI “Official Steering Wheel” of POWRi West, Esslinger Engineering Performance Award (top-finishing Esslinger entry), and the MyChron Tom/AIM bonus of $300 (1st), $150 (2nd) and $50.

Saturday’s racing action at Port City Raceway gets under way at 7:00 p.m.

Port City Raceway is located east of Tulsa, OK, on I-44, then north one mile on E 161st Avenue then 0.3 miles west on Pine, then north.  For information, contact the track at 918-697-2081 or check http://www.portcityraceway.net/.

The Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget League presented by Executive Concrete NWA is slated for 29 nights of competition at 13 different tracks throughout Oklahoma, Kansas, Missouri and Texas.  The POWRi West Sooner Series consists of the dozen events in the state of Oklahoma.

More information regarding the POWRi West Midget League is available at http://www.powri.com/ and on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/PowRiWest/.