POWRi 2015 Midget Sked Released

2015 POWRi National Midget Series Schedule Released, Featuring Largest Paying Midget Event

Millstadt, IL. – The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series has scheduled 39 events for the 2015 season and will include fan-favorites such as the Turnpike Challenge at Port City Raceway, The Thiel Memorial and Pepsi Nationals at Angell Park Speedway, and the $20,000-to-win Great Clips Jason Leffler Memorial at Wayne County Speedway. The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series will also make their debut at Fairbury Speedway in 2015, a track POWRi was originally scheduled to make their debut at in 2014, but inclement weather forced the cancellation of the event.

The 2015 season begins at Port City Raceway on March 20th and will conclude at Wayne County Speedway on October 23rd for the Jason Leffler Memorial.

The Jason Leffler Memorial, a $20,000-to-win event sponsored by Great Clips, will be the largest-paying midget event in 2015. Held October 23rd at Wayne County Speedway, all proceeds will go to the Charlie Dean Leffler Discretionary Fund.

The Leffler Memorial was organized by Wayne County Speedway owner Doug Stringer in 2012 to honor his long-time friend who died in a sprint car crash on June 12, 2013. Leffler was 37 and is survived by his five-year old son, Charlie Dean. “This race is my way to honor Jason, who was a great racer, but more importantly a great father to Charlie Dean,” Stringer explained. “As we continue to mourn, we must keep Charlie Dean in the forefront of our minds and do everything we can to ensure he grows up knowing what an amazing person his father was and how much he was respected as both a driver and a friend.”

Stringer has continued to improve and enhance the facilities since purchasing the track in 2012. In 2014, Stringer added more grandstands, an upper deck area, as well as re-conditioning the track surface with new dirt. Previous winners of the event include 2013 and 2014 POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series Champion Zach Daum (2013), and 2013 World of Outlaw’s STP Sprint Car Series Champion Daryn Pittman (2014).

Returning for the first time since 2008, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series will run the two day Iron Man 55 at I-55 Raceway in conjunction with the World of Outlaw’s STP Sprint Car Series. During the two day Missouri Mid-State Midget Nationals, POWRi will visit the title sponsor-owned, Lucas Oil Speedway on May 2nd, the second and final night of the Missouri Mid-State Midget Nationals. Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Indiana will host the Ford Eco-Boost Challenge with races on Saturday, August 1st and will conclude on Saturday, September 26th. POWRi will also continue to visit their fan-favorite 1/5th mile tracks of Macon and Belleville, with a total of 13 scheduled events between the two tracks alone.

Macon Speedway will host a two-day show on July 3rd and 4th weekend, with the July 4th event paying $5000-to-win. This two day show will be a precursor to the Pepsi Nationals on July 5th at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin. Continuing to hold their traditional events honoring those who have contributed to the rich history of midget racing, the schedule includes the Arnie Knepper Memorial on August 2nd and the Meents Memorial on October 3rd at Belle-Clair Speedway, as well as the Dana Godfrey Memorial at Macon Speedway on August 22nd.

POWRi’s world championship began in New Zealand and continues in Australia later in January. After a short break, the championship renews in the United States on May 23rd at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin for the two-day Thiel Memorial and will conclude on June 7th at Belle-Clair Speedway. Illinois Speed Week includes Quincy Raceway on Thursday June 4th, Jacksonville Speedway on Friday June 5th, Macon Speedway on Saturday June 6th, and closes at Belle-Clair Speedway on Sunday June 7th alongside the world championship.

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series 2015 Schedule:

Fri, March 20
Port City Raceway – Turnpike Challenge,Tulsa, OK

Sat, March 21
Port City Raceway – Turnpike Challenge, Tulsa, OK

Fri, April 10
Belle-Clair Speedway, Belleville, IL

Fri, April 24
Jacksonville Speedway, Jacksonville, IL

Sat, April 25
Macon Speedway, Macon, IL

Fri, May 1
Valley Speedway – MO Mid-State Midget Nationals, Grain Valley, MO

Sat, May 2
Lucas Oil Speedway – MO Mid-State Midget Nationals, Wheatland, MO

Fri, May 8
Belle-Clair Speedway, Belleville, IL

Sat, May 9
St. Francis County Raceway, Farmington, MO

Fri, May 15
Fayette County Speedway, Brownstown, IL

Sat, May 16
Macon Speedway, Macon, IL

Sat, May 23
Angell Park Speedway – Thiel Memorial, Sun Prairie, WI

Sun May 24
Angell Park Speedway – Thiel Memorial, Sun Prairie, WI

Thu, June 4
Quincy Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week, Quincy, IL

Fri, June 5
Jacksonville Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week, Jacksonville, IL

Sat, June 6
Macon Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week, Macon, IL

Sun, June 7
Belle-Clair Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week, Belleville, IL

Fri, July 3
Macon Speedway, Macon, IL

Sat, July 4
Macon Speedway, Macon, IL

Sun, July 5
Angell Park Speedway – Pepsi Nationals, Sun Prairie, WI

Sat, July 11
Fairbury Speedway, Fairbury, IL

Sun, July 12
Belle-Clair Speedway, Belleville, IL

Sat, Aug 1
Tri-State Speedway – Ford Eco-Boost Challenge, Haubstadt, IN

Sun, Aug 2
Belle-Clair Speedway – Knepper Memorial, Belleville, IL

Fri, Aug 7
I-55 Raceway – Iron Man 55, Pevely, MO

Sat, Aug 8
I-55 Raceway – Iron Man 55, Pevely, MO

Fri, Aug 21
Lincoln Speedway – Springfield Fair, Lincoln, IL

Sat, Aug 22
Macon Speedway – Dana Godfrey Memorial, Macon, IL

Sat, Aug 29
LaSalle Speedway, LaSalle, Illinois

Fri, Sept 11
Jacksonville Speedway – Herb Barlow Memorial, Jacksonville, IL

Sat, Sept 12
Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial, Canton, IL

Sat, Sept 26
Tri-State Speedway – Ford Eco-Boost Challenge, Haubstadt, IN

Fri, Oct 2
Belle-Clair Speedway – Belleville Bash, Belleville, IL

Sat, Oct 3
Belle-Clair Speedway – Meents Memorial, Belleville, IL

Fri, Oct 9
Lincoln Speedway, Lincoln, IL

Sat, Oct 10
Jacksonville Speedway, Jacksonville, IL

Fri, Oct 23
Wayne County Speedway – Jason Leffler Memorial, Wayne City, IL