Edwards Earns First POWRi West Win of the Year with KSP Triumph!

Lonnie Wheatley, KENNEDALE, Texas (June 30, 2018) – Blake Edwards picked off his first Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget League presented by Executive Concrete NWA feature win of the year by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap main event at Kennedale Speedway Park that wrapped up the series’ North Texas weekend double.

The Claremore, OK, racer took the lead away from Jeb Sessums to post the win aboard the No. 17e entry atop the ¼-mile clay oval.

While Edwards started outside the front row, fellow Oklahoma shoe Hank Davis jumped into the early lead and paced the field until clipping an infield tire and spinning to a stop.

After Justin Melton went for a wild ride in turns one and two on the restart, Sessums, Edwards and high point driver of the night Wesley Smith diced for the lead while Grady Chandler worked the upper portion of the track to move up to fourth until losing power and collecting fifth-runner and current points leader Kory Schudy.

Back under way, Edwards took to the upper portion of the track and disposed of Sessums en route to his first POWRi West win since July of 2016 at Oklahoma City’s I-44 Riverside Speedway.

Burleson’s Sessums settled for runner-up honors with Kyle Jones following up his Friday night win with a third-place run.  Wesley Smith was fourth with tenth-starter Weston Gorham rounding out the top five.

Payton Pierce charged from 19th to sixth with Davis, 18th-starter Hannah Adair, Craig Oakes and Josh Hawkins completing the top ten.

Davis, Sessums and Schudy topped the night’s heat race action.

In addition to Lucas Oil and Executive Concrete NWA, additional POWRi West Midget League supporting sponsors include Two-Eight Drilling, American Discount Auto Care, R&M Race Trailer, A1 Machine, Rod End Supply, Pyrotech, Esslinger Engineering and MyChron Tom/AIM.

The POWRi West Midget League fires back into action in conjunction with the POWRi National Midget League with a two-night stand at Grain Valley, Missouri’s Valley Speedway on July 13-14.

Lucas Oil POWRi West Midget League presented by Executive Concrete NWA Results

Kennedale Speedway Park (Kennedale, TX) – June 30, 2018

Smith Ti Heat One (8 Laps):  1. 42-Hank Davis, [2]; 2. 51-Kade Taylor, [1]; 3. 11J-Justin Melton, [4]; 4. 21-Michelle Melton, [7]; 5. 52-Craig Oakes, [6]; 6. 721-Brendon Wiseley, [5]; 7. 24-Hunter Fischer, [3].

Keizer Wheels Heat Two (8 Laps):  1. 1H-Jeb Sessums, [1]; 2. 44-Wesley Smith, [5]; 3. 17E-Blake Edwards, [7]; 4. 10-Geo White, [4]; 5. 27B-A.J. Burns, [2]; 6. 23-Hannah Adair, [3]; 7. 77-Payton Pierce, [6].

Saldana Products Heat Three (8 Laps):  1. 28-Kory Schudy, [2]; 2. 7U-Kyle Jones, [3]; 3. 71WG-Weston Gorham, [1]; 4. 80-Josh Hawkins, [4]; 5. 4B-Grady Chandler, [6]; 6. 9U-Doug McCune, [5].

“A” Main (25 Laps):  1. 17E-Blake Edwards, [2]; 2. 1H-Jeb Sessums, [5]; 3. 7U-Kyle Jones, [6]; 4. 44-Wesley Smith, [3]; 5. 71WG-Weston Gorham, [10]; 6. 77-Payton Pierce, [19]; 7. 42-Hank Davis, [1]; 8. 23-Hannah Adair, [18]; 9. 52-Craig Oakes, [13]; 10. 80-Josh Hawkins, [12]; 11. 28-Kory Schudy, [4]; 12. 51-Kade Taylor, [8]; 13. 10-Geo White, [11]; 14. 24-Hunter Fischer, [20]; 15. 27B-A.J. Burns, [15]; 16. 9U-Doug McCune, [17]; 17. 11J-Justin Melton, [9]; 18. 4B-Grady Chandler, [14]; 19. 721-Brendon Wiseley, [16]; 20. 21-Michelle Melton, [7].

BOSS Performance High Point Driver: Wesley Smith.