Clauson Captures 30th Career POWRi Win

JACKSONVILLE, Ill. (April 22, 2016) – Bryan Clauson of Noblesville, Indiana utilized the bottom side of the high-banked ¼ mile to overtake Tyler Thomas in route to his 30th career Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series victory.

In Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series competition, Bryan Clauson overcame pole-sitter Tyler Thomas on the bottom coming off turn four on lap six, leading the remaining 24 laps in convincing fashion.  Tanner Thorson moved into the second position one lap later and was the only realistic challenge to knock down Clauson, but could never reach striking distance even after Daniel Robinson brought out the only one red bringing the action to a halt on lap 22.

Coming back to green, Clauson would check out and never look back on the way to claiming top honors.  Clauson’s victory in the Rusty Kunz Racing/Joe Dooling Stanton SR-11 powered Spike became his 30th career victory in 77 starts with the Lucas Oil POWRi National Midget Series.

Tanner Thorson of Minden, Nevada would follow Clauson to the stripe in the Keith Kunz/Curb-Agajanian Motorsports Toyota-powered Bullet, while Tyler Thomas held onto third in the Brian Thomas/BT Machine Esslinger-powered Spike.  Rico Abreu drove up to fourth after starting ninth and Zach Daum rounded out the top five after starting in the eighth position,

“I can’t thank these guys enough for giving me a great racecar,” said a victorious Bryan Clauson.  “It’s a lot of fun to be out here on the road racing every night and just living the dream.  These little bullrings seem to fit me pretty well.”

“We were really good,” said Tanner Thorson.  “Keith and the guys in the shop put this new car together this week and it was working great.  Congratulations to Bryan Clauson.  I just can’t thank this whole team enough.”

“I didn’t make a very smart decision going to the top there at the beginning,” explained Tyler Thomas.  “I let Bryan by and Tanner drive by me in the middle.  The car was really close.  It was just a little frustrating to see it on the bottom.  I’ve never seen this place like this.  It was a little disappointing, but I hope the fans enjoyed the race.”

National Midgets

Speedway Motors Heat Race Winners: Heat 1: 11A – ANDREW FELKER, Heat 2: 67 – TANNER THORSON, Heat 3: 63 – BYRAN CLAUSON, Heat 4: 5D – ZACH DAUM

Semi Feature Winners: 91 – DERECK KING

Great Clips Feature Winner: 63 – Bryan Clauson

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series Feature Results (30 laps): 1. 63 – Bryan Clauson  2. 67 -Tanner Thorson  3. 91T – Tyler Thomas  4. 97K – Rico Abreu  5. 5D – Zach Daum  6. 32 – Garrett Aitken  7. 11A – Andrew Felker  8. 11AG – Dave Darland  9. 97 – Spencer Bayston  10. 71 – Ryan Robinson  11. 3N – Jake Neuman  12. 5X – Justin Peck  13. 91 – Dereck King  14. 41 – Austin Prock  15. 7 – Austin Brown  16. 67K – Holly Shelton  17. 9K – Kyle Schuett  18. 1K – Brayton Lynch  19. 31 – David Budres  20. 22 – Andy Malpocker  21. 88 – Terry Babb  22. 56Y – Daniel Robinson  23. 71K – Carson Macedo