2015 NMDOTY Point Title to Thorson

“Turkey Night victory propels Thorson to NMDOTY title”
“Tenth driver champion in 17-seasons”

Perris, CA, Nov. 27—Tanner Thorson’s victory in Thursday’s 75th annual Turkey night Grand Prix at Perris Auto Speedway, helped him secure the 2015 National Midget Driver of the Year Championship.
Thorson becomes the tenth different driver championship in the seventeen-year history of the NMDOTY. Thorson overcame an eight-point defect entering the event overtaking teammate Rico Abreu for the race victory and title, which spanned 156 races at 67 different race tracks.
Darren Hagen finished third, three-time NMDOTY Champion Bryan Clauson, and Christopher Bell winner of the previous two years completed the top five. A total of 502 drivers scored points during the season. In car owner points Kunz-Curb-Agajanian#67 won the Car Owners Championship.
Frankie Guerinni won the Western Midget Driver of the Year Championship presented by West Evans Motorsports & Western Speed Performance topping tow-time champion Ronnie Gardner by 58-points. Six8 Motorsports won the car owner’s title.
Kyle Schuett won the Design 500 Racewear Rookie of the Year. Spike won the Manufacturers Championship for Chassis builders for the ninth straight year, while Esslinger topped the engine manufacturers for the 11th consecutive season.
The top ten NMDOTY drivers, car owner champion along with Manufacturers Champions, Rookie of the Year and Western Champion will receive their point fund checks and trophies, in the annual ceremony held during the final night of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Midget Nationals on Jan. 16, 2016.

NMDOTY Driver points: 1. Tanner Thorson 1232; 2. Rico Abreu 1140; 3. Darren Hagen 1035; 4. Bryan Clauson 1025; 5. Christopher Bell 956; 6. Spencer Bayston 950; 8. Andrew Felker 780; 9. Tyler Thomas 735; 10. Zach Daum 680.

NMDOTY Car Owner points: 1. Kunz/Curb-Agajanian#67- 1388; 2. 1. Kunz/Curb-Agajanian#97- 1043; 3. RKR/Curb-Agajanian#63- 1013; 4. Austin Brown#17- 960; 5. BCI Inc.#39-868.

Western Midget DOTY Driver points: 1. Frankie Guerinni 390; 2. Ronnie Gardner 332; 3. Michael Faccinto 268; 4. Keith Rauch 264; 5. Brian Gard 234; 6. Bob Harr 214;7. Chad Nichols 201; 8. Nick Chivello 199; 10. Floyd Alvis 195.

Western Midget DOTYCar Owner points: 1. Six8 Racing#68-282; 2. Petaro#27-253; 3. Felkins#35-249; 4. F&F#63-241; 5. Harr#2-194.

Design 500 Racewear Rookie of the Year: 1. Kyle Schuett 427; 2. Tucker Klaasmeyer 339; 3. Anton Hernadez 320.

Manufacturers Champions: Spike (Chassis)- 38 feature wins; Esslinger (Engine)- 66 feature wins

(Jeff Arns Photo)